Great Quotes — Two

When we were encouraged by Chris at Compassion to seek for a word to represent the whole year, I felt God led me to the word “Hold,” which seems rather strange.  But let me tell you, it’s meant so much to me already, and I’m amazed at the ways God has brought it to me.  If you don’t have a word for the year, it’s never too late.  What is God speaking to you about lately?  Does there seem to be a theme?  

This has been a good way for me to really focus in and listen during my daily devotions.  Here are some of the quotes related to this word for me already this year:

He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.  –Colossians 1:17 (NIV)

Only hold fast what you have until I come.  –Revelation 2:25 (ESV)

If the LORD delights in a man’s way, he makes his steps firm; though he stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.  –Psalms 37:23-24 (NIV)

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  –Isaiah 41:10 (ESV)

A stronghold is anything that has a strong hold on your life.  We hide behind shelters that become strongholds…We hold the key to the prison we’re in.  Our prison doors are locked from the inside.  –Beth Moore (paraphrase), from the “Breaking Free” Bible Study

What do you hold in your pocket?  I’m holding a key…We hold the key to all that we need — and it’s Jesus.  –Sharon, a friend that was leading worship in our church this weekend

Place in my hands the wonderful key that shall unclasp and set me free.  –Words to the hymn, “Open My Eyes That I May See,” by Clara H. Scott

Reverently respect GOD, your God, serve him, hold tight  to him, back up your promises with the authority of his name.  –Deut. 10:20 (MSG)

Children are the hands by which we take hold of heaven.  –Henry Ward Beecher, quoted on the Compassion website

As you can see, God was really speaking to me this week (and this was only the tip of the iceberg)!  He has spoken through many sources, but with the same, assuring message.  I’m very excited to see where else this takes me in my walk with Him!

5 thoughts on “Great Quotes — Two

  1. La'Tamara says:

    Thankyou ALLELUIAH for these scriptures and quotes about hold. I cried in awe, repentance and love that Father God has shown me. Oh His Mercies what can I say …. I just fill so full and emptied. While I am reading and crying then the movie JESUS came on. Surely visitation came to my house and not just my man made home but my temple created by The LIVING GOD!!!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    For me this is the year of discipleship, helping others grow in Christ.

  3. “No matter how big a nation is, it is no stronger that its weakest people, and as long as you keep a person down, some part of you has to be down there to hold him down, so it means you cannot soar as you might otherwise”

    Marian ANderson

  4. Lukewarm says:

    Much like hold, I like “still”.
    “Be still, and know that I am God”

  5. Abbie says:

    I just love that He is using this word in your life so much-such a visual of how God is working in it!

Leave a Reply

