A Refuge in Trouble

Did you choose a “Word of the Year” for 2012?  Ever since Chris, of the Compassion Blog, introduced this concept to me, I have been writing and journaling about my word every year.  It’s very important in my walk with God.  It has transformed my devotional time, as I watch for uses of the word throughout the year.  I keep entire notebooks of the words throughout the year.  My previous words have been:

2008–Ways

2009 –Hold

2010–Trust

What is my word this year?  Refuge.  As God was impressing this word upon my heart before Christmas, I had no idea that the year would begin with this very concept.  One morning, I awoke to find this message from my former LDP student, Emjay, on Facebook:

Mommy…our city was devastated by the typhoon last night.  Many lives were lost…and all our things and house are gone by the flood..my father and brother were almost drowned..thank God they were saved. We have nothing left..please pray for us..

All last week, I have been sharing photos and information about the relief efforts from Emjay’s church, of which Compassion is a supporting partner.

The church is a refuge for many families right now, and will continue to be for several weeks.  The Lord is the ultimate refuge for His people.  What does it mean to be a refuge?

The LORD is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts, and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.  The LORD is the strength of his people; he is the saving refuge of his anointed.  — Psalm 28:7-8 (ESV)

In you, O LORD, do I take refuge; let me never be put to shame; in your righteousness deliver me! … Be a rock of refuge for me, a strong fortress to save me!  For you are my rock and my fortress…Psalm 31:1-3 (ESV)

Here are some photos of the church as a place of refuge in the Philippines right now.  If you would like to contribute to the relief effort, please click here and you will be directed to a quick way to make your donation on behalf of all these precious people.  The needs are huge, and we need to come alongside Pastor Jay and his congregation as they reach out to so many in need.

From the looks of these photos, it is obvious that a refuge provides:

  • Shelter
  • Safety
  • Provision
  • Nourishment
  • Rest
  • Fellowship
  • Comfort
  • Encouragement

Please make a donation today!

2 thoughts on “A Refuge in Trouble

  1. Jill Foley says:

    I like your word for the year and how you are already learning through it. My words have been LOVE, QUIET and now LISTEN. Kinda cool how they seem to be building on each other – God’s cool like that!

Leave a Reply

