Leave Some for the Poor

How much food in is thrown away per year?  It is estimated that $100 billion is spent per year in a single country on food that is thrown away.  The shocking figure, though, is that it would only take about $30 billion to feed the world’s hungry.  When I read these figures on this report, I thought of my trip to Ecuador.

img_0324We travelled to the beautiful village of Otavalo and stopped at one of the Compassion projects. First, we spent some time playing with the adorable children.

We met the Pastor, Project Director and several of the teachers who spend so much of their time on behalf of the children.  We were very impressed with all that they were doing.

Next, we were invited to lunch in the project.   They served us chicken, huge corncobs unlike any we had seen before, beans, potatoes and other delicious items.  

 

img_0347After lunch, we were invited to walk to a nearby home to see how the children in the area live.  The mother was gracious to us, and we prayed for her family after visiting with her for a few minutes.  It was easy to see why these children were in need of a sponsor, for the family had very little.  We did not even see any food on the shelves.

As we headed back, we had quite a long climb up stairs and streets to get back to the project.  We were stunned, for all along the way, we saw scenes like this:

img_0353

img_03521Obviously, these children had been given the food we had not eaten — the left-overs.  You will notice they were not eating this food; they were taking it home for younger siblings.  You see, these children had already eaten at the project before we did.  Now there was plenty left-over for their families, and their faces showed the joy of having some thing to share.  It was a happy moment I will never forget.  I always think twice now before I throw anything away.

When you reap the harvest of your land, do not reap to the very edges of your field or gather the gleanings of your harvest.  Do not go over your vineyard a second time or pick up the grapes that have fallen.  Leave them for the poor and the alien.  I am the LORD your God.  Leviticus 19:9-10

img_0327

2 thoughts on “Leave Some for the Poor

  1. Abbie says:

    I always love reading your posts. You really get my little mind to thinking about things plus I always love seeing pictures of the little ones. Something about seeing their faces brings so much of what we read and hear to reality.

  2. Vicki Small says:

    Excellent post, Juli, and you’ve inspired me to write a similar one…and thanks for the scripture reference!

    I hate throwing food away. When we returned from DR in October, I flew to LAX, where my husband picked me up and we spent a few days visiting with my family. One restaurant we always visit at least once, when we’re there, is Spaghetti Eddie’s. Great spaghetti, rolls and salads! But, as is true of just about every restaurant in the land, these days, the portions are waaaay too big. No one wanted to split an order with me, and I balked at ordering a serving of my own. Bruce explained to everyone, including the waitress, that I had just come from a developing country where I had visited with kids living in real poverty. But the truth is, I always balk at ordering huge meals, unless I know I can take some home.

    Here in Tucson, Bruce and I will either split orders or bring home leftovers for another meal. When we’re out of town, we can’t always do that.

    Anyway, thanks. I’ll save the rest for my own post! :o)

Leave a Reply

