God is Real — Part One

How do I know God is real?  It’s simple.  I’ve experienced Him.  I have no doubt of His presence in my life.  Yesterday I was reminded of an event that occurred years ago.  It was the birthday of the son of a close friend.  When she was (early) pregnant with him we were working on a musical, for which she was the lead character.  It required a lot of energy and jumping around on stage, and she started to miscarry her baby, bleeding and having other complications.  I left practice night after night concerned about her.  One night on the way home I begged God for a sign that the baby would be safe, perhaps by showing some kind of sign in the sky.  I have never asked for a sign before or after this, but was really concerned that night.

Driving home I kept looking at the sky to no avail, and as I walked up the sidewalk into the house I lingered a long time on the front porch, hoping to see the promise.  But I had to give up, and decided to entrust the child to God.  I knew it wasn’t my problem to solve.

In the middle of the night I was awakened by a loud sound.  It was as though someone had taken ahold of the gate of the fence outside our bedroom window, and shook it strongly.  I jumped out of bed and looked out to see if someone was there, but the only thing I saw — was a falling star.

starfall

Now I had my promise.  I told my friend the next day that now we  could be certain the baby would be all right, and he was.  He’s 20 years old now.

I want to make it clear that it wasn’t the star that was so impressive to me; it was the fact that God answered my prayer and gave us a complete sense of peace and assurance, something only He can do.  That’s how I know He’s real; He’s present in my life and so very real to me.  There is no other explanation.  I will share some more stories in the days to come.

For corresponding posts see Part 2 and Part 3.

Leave a Reply

