God is Real — Part Two

How do I know God is real?  The answer is that I have experienced Him — answering prayer, showing His presence, giving peace, giving direction, bringing help.  Here is another story from my own life.

Years ago I was asked to speak for a women’s retreat here.  In the days preceding the special weekend I started to get a respiratory infection, and by the day preceding, I had lost my voice completely.  In fact, I could only whisper, and I had a big lump in my throat.

The women were gathering the night before to set up and to pray together, and I whispered my prayer request to them — “Please pray that God will either heal my voice OR show us who is supposed to speak in my place.”

I’ll never forget when an elderly lady in the circle prayed for me.  She didn’t ask for God to heal my voice OR give direction; she simply asked for Him to heal me.  The instant she prayed, I felt a cool breeze go in my mouth, down my throat and dissolve that lump.  My voice returned instantly.  I’m not one to get up and run around shouting, so when we finished praying I simply said, “It’s back.  My voice is back.”  Then I told them what had happened.  Sure enough, my voice was completely well for the speaking engagement the next day.

Does God always heal?  No.  Why?  I don’t know.  But I have a follow-up story to share.

A few months later I was supposed to speak in another event several miles away from Buffalo.  The night before, again, I was not feeling well, and wasn’t sure whether I should go or not.  My prayer that night was that God would either heal me or let me know by morning if I should cancel.

That night, two of our kids were up sick in the night; real sick.  I knew I could not go to the speaking engagement.  The group asked me to re-schedule and we did.  Without any planning on our part, on the date we rescheduled, my in-laws happened to be coming through Wyoming,through that very town.  My mother-in-law was able to meet with me at the speaking engagement, and she even brought a friend that lived in that town.  Both she and the friend did not live many years past that speaking engagement, and it was the only time she heard me share publicly about my faith.  I know that God knew what He was doing when he stopped me from going the first time.  Whether He heals or not when I pray, I know He sees the full picture and knows what is best.  I also know, from experience, that He very definitely can and will heal instantly, sometimes, when we ask.  I have another experience similar to this to share with you sometime in the future.

For corresponding posts, see Part 1 and Part 3.

dove-bw

Leave a Reply

