Preparing for a Quilt

I spent over a year making a quilt for Chris.  He requested the same colors as some of his jackets:

IMG_3981_500

So here are some of the fabrics I came up with:

2012-03-27 17.15.37_500

2012-03-27 17.21.14_500

Not all of the fabrics made the cut (such as the black and white that we attempted dying lime green) but at least we had a start.

We found a pattern that we liked in a November 2007 Quiltmake magazine. The pattern is “Crystal of Indigo,” by Kyoko Yoshida of Japan.  It consists of triangles that are paper pieced together to form hexagons.  But Kyoko’s pattern did not have any details about color placement or mapping of design.

To start the project I asked Sarah to create a grid that I could color in.

Quilt pattern_500

Each of the triangles had to match all the ones next to it, so it was quite complicated and required a lot of thinking and planning.  I numbered each hexagon and assigned letters for each fabric that would be in the various triangles.  It was VERY complex!

2013-04-11 12.19.09_500

This is what the paper pieced triangles look like (there are alternating “Y” and “Z” blocks, which are mirror images of each other, which only adds to the confusion):

2013-04-11 12.32.05_500

I lined up the various fabrics for each triangle and started sewing them on.

2013-04-11 12.15.27_500

The fabrics are placed underneath the pattern and then you sew right through the paper and the fabric like this–10 pieces for each triangle, or 60 for each hexagon.

2013-04-12 18.30.53_500It would be hours and months later before I would finish sewing all of the triangles.  I will show you some of them in the next post.

3 thoughts on “Preparing for a Quilt

  1. Julie B says:

    Hello Juli
    your quilt is amazing and I have been wanting to try this quilt and have been searching every where to get the pattern or the magazine with no success, do you have a PDF of the pattern from the magazine you could share. I have a stash of kimono fabric waiting to be used. Also good to see your good work and travels in Kenya
    Julie South Australia

    • Juli Jarvis says:

      Thanks–appreciate hearing from you. Unfortunately I do not have a PDF of the pattern. But the original was in the November 2007 Quiltmaker Magazine. Someone else told me it has been re-printed in Quiltmaker, and I assume it was sometime in 2016. You might google “Crystal of Indigo” by Kyoko Yoshida and see if you can find it. I hope it works out alright for you!

  2. Bernice says:

    I can’t wait to see this, Juli
    1 I did some paper work cards like this–tiny little things compared to a quilt. You’re burning some midnight oil!

Leave a Reply

