Labor of Love

I have often said that Chris’ quilt was truly a labor of love, because it took so long to sew.  I enjoyed paper piecing the blocks, but it was time-consuming and I had to focus very carefully on what needed to be done.

Here are some of the triangles I pieced together.  I had never done paper piecing before, so I really didn’t know what I was getting into, but I enjoyed it.

2013-04-10 17.53.06_500

You can see that each one has 10 strips of fabric in it, and must connect to the next triangle, like this, to form a hexagon:

2013-04-11 16.41.03_500

Then each hexagon had to connect with all the ones next to it.  I kept following the color map that I had made before I began.

IMG_5565_800_500

As the hexagons were completed I started putting them up on my design wall and they looked great.

2012-10-25 14.31.51_500

Usually I only had part of the blocks on the wall at a time, but at one point I put a lot up.  Notice that each one had a number tag on it to keep them organized.  You should be able to click on the photo below for a closer look.

2012-11-21 17.00.22_500

In my next post I will show the finished quilt!

Leave a Reply

