Ask

One of my favorite authors is Eugene H. Peterson.  He solidly expresses the truth of scripture, over and over again.  Here is a quote from one of his books:

I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If in my name you ask me for anything, I will do it.  John 14:13-14

Too often we ask for things we don’t need from people who can’t supply our needs.  Jesus’s generous invitation, “Ask,” involves us in receiving the gifts God has for us, in doing ministries to which he calls us, and experiencing the grace and mercy by which he completes us.  What will you ask God for?

God, instead of asking for many things I’ll never need, from merchants and entertainers and friends, I will ask you for the few things I need eternally–light to take the next step in faith, grace to persevere for another day, forgiveness that changes sin to salvation.  Amen.  

Eugene H. Peterson, A Year With Jesus, pg. 332

 

 

Leave a Reply

