Seeing Yourself

This week I’m sharing some of the best quotes from my journals.  Some of these are quite thought-provoking, in my opinion.

Two fine sons.  That’s what Zebedee had.  He named them himself.  They played in his shadow until they were old enough to work; and if I know anything about teenage boys, they still played plenty behind his back even when they were supposed to be working.  Just about the time Zebedee grew exasperated with them, he’d look in their faces and see himself.  — Beth Moore, Portraits of Devotion, pg. 153

God is orchestrating history.  He is present and in the middle of human activity…The Holy Spirit will instruct you and help you know when and where God is working.  Once you know where He is working, you can adjust your life to join Him in His divine purposes…Watch to see where God is at work around you.  When He shows you, join Him in His work, keep your attention on God’s call to an assignment rather than on your spiritual gifts, personal desires, skills, abilities, or resources.  Once you understand God’s call to an assignment, obey Him and He will work through you to accomplish His divine eternal purposes.  — Henry & Richard Blackaby, Experiencing God, as quoted in How Great is our God, 4/8/16

I wait quietly before God, for my victory comes from him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will never be shaken.  So many enemies against one man–all of them trying to kill me.  To them I’m just a broken-down wall or a tottering fence…Let all that I am wait quietly before God, for my hope is in him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will not be shaken.  Psalm 62:1-3, 5-6 (NLT)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

