Gonna Miss You Daddy

My life forever changed this week.  My dad passed away Thursday, May 5 at the age of 89.  He had been struggling some time with pneumonia and other conditions that made it difficult for him, so we are thankful he is no longer suffering.  I had just arrived in Hawaii with two of our kids when we found out, but it was a good weekend to reflect and to spend quality time together, even in the midst of grief.  My sister was in town at the time of his passing.   I didn’t regret being away because we’d all been able to have a lot of individual time with him recently.

IMG_6352

Since we have also just celebrated Mother’s Day I would also like to share photos of my mother, who passed away in 2001 from cancer.

JuliMother_500

My mother was greatly loved by so many people, and my father adored her as well.

2016-05-08 19.28.00_500

IMG_3244

Years ago they purchased land in Jackson Hole for their retirement home, and we spent many special family times there.

2016-05-08 19.13.34_500

2016-05-08 19.23.56_500

2016-05-08 19.11.33_500

2016-05-08 19.03.34_500

I will share more about both my parents in the days to come, but today I just want to say, “I miss you.”  I know that life is never the same when parents pass away.  You never stop missing them; the pain of separation lessens with time, but you never really stop missing them.

I’m truly thankful for the life they gave me — both literally and for the life experiences they gave me — in Jackson Hole, Kansas City and the Lake of the Ozarks especially.  I will share more photos and information about these places in the days to come.  Thanks to the many friends and family members that have expressed condolences; your prayers and comments are greatly appreciated.

2016-05-08 18.34.50_500

 

One thought on “Gonna Miss You Daddy

  1. Joan Crowe says:

    Beautiful tribute to your parents, Juli. You’re in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

