Growing Up

As a memorial to my dad I’d like to share some old photos of our family.  Here are some of the first photos of me with my mom and dad:

img106_500

My sister, Robyn, looks pretty cute in the background.

img100_500

img099_500

Here are the two of us together in one of our classic pics:

IMG_0299_500

This photo was taken only a few years ago, at our parents’ home in Jackson Hole:

IMG_3262_500

These Easter pics with Daddy are pretty classic, too.  Those are quite the hair-dos, in the days when mothers thought their little girls should have permanents!

img124_500

From the looks of the photo below, it appears that she continued giving permanents to Robyn but gave up on them with me.

img137_500

Now we’ll fast-forward to my college years, when Daddy was so eager to attend Fathers’ Weekends at my sorority at the University of Kansas.

2016-05-08 19.56.03_500

2016-05-08 19.57.35-1_500

2016-05-08 19.56.59_500

Really — square dancing with my dad?  I was wearing a snazzy plaid pantsuit my mother made for me.  You can see the pants below and the matching jacket (barely) above.  I loved that outfit at the time.

2016-05-08 19.57.09_500

Last, here is a photo of the Chaney family in the 70’s.  Family portraits were not a normal thing in those days, so I’m really amazed (and thankful) we managed to get this one.  img323_500

Some of the things our parents taught us were:

  • Integrity
  • Responsibility
  • How to catch a fish
  • Musical abilities and appreciation
  • How to think through problems
  • A love for history
  • Silly games, songs and jokes
  • Honesty
  • Marriage commitment
  • Needlework, knitting and sewing skills
  • How to drive a boat
  • Academic excellence
  • Faith and Reverence
  • Swimming and waterskiing
  • Correct diction and pronunciation
  • How to prevent a skunk from spraying you
  • How to get skunk smell out of a dog
  • Card games
  • Archery
  • How to ride a bike and skateboard
  • Appreciation for the outdoors, pets and wildlife
  • How to balance a checkbook
  • Humor and laughter
  • A love of book reading
  • Nutrition, health and fitness
  • How to play Mah Jongg
  • Family values
  • Loyalty
  • Proper table manners
  • How to skip a rock across the smooth surface of a lake
  • The love of children
  • The value and enjoyment of volunteer work

I’m sure there are many more things we learned, but these are the ones that came to mind first.

 

 

One thought on “Growing Up

  1. Anonymous says:

    Wonderful photos, Juli.

Leave a Reply

