Challenge Improv

For my Color Challenge at the local quilt guild I decided to use some of the improv skills I had recently learned.  I started by choosing fabrics that matched the color chips I’d been given.

Then the plan was to make decisions on the design wall, little by little, before sewing them together.  You can see some of the ideas I tested.

The problem was that I started sewing pieces together before I was certain of the placement.  I had to do a lot of ripping out.  For instance, I decided the turquoise piece across the top (and in several other places) did not match, so I ripped all those out.

I also had the large cream-colored rectangles sewn in on the right before deciding to add slashes, and had to rip one out, along with everything around it.

I also had to rip out a lot on the left when I decided not to use the full blue piece.  But it all worked out eventually.  Here is the finished piece with the corresponding paint chips.

I had learned how to make a no-binding finish, so that is what I did with this small wall hanging.  I love it!  Next time, I hope I can make more definitive decisions while it’s on the design wall!